Okanagan College Announces 2017 CPAEF Award Recipients

[Left to Right: Sydney Hofer, Maxine DeHart, Shanna Stoesz and Christianne Edblad. Missing: Meghan Vetsch].

Okanagan College has announced that four students have received CPA Education Foundation Awards.

Christianne EdbladShanna Stoesz and Meghan Vetsch each received $1,000 from the CPA Endowment Fund for the 2017-18 academic year.   This endowed fund was derived from the generosity of legacy members in the Okanagan region.  The purpose of the fund is to encourage education and research in accounting, auditing and related disciplines, including assisting accounting students in need, and promoting research projects and education in accounting.

Edblad said, “I plan on completing my Bachelor of Business Administration with the Accounting speciality this year and then furthering my education in the CPA program to eventually become a CPA.”  Stoesz echoed this career goal, “I have completed my Bachelor of Business Administration degree and decided to pursue a CPA designation. I am excited for my new journey.”

In addition, Christianne Edblad and Sydney Hofer received the CPABC Okanagan Chapter Award and were awarded $950 each.    The local chapter has funded a scholarship at Okanagan College through to 2018.

These awards were presented at the Okanagan College Awards Reception held at the Kelowna Campus on November 23, 2017.

Pictured above are Okanagan College students receiving their award from Maxine DeHart, member of the CPAEF Board, and a Kelowna city councilor.



Posted in CPAEF, news, students