Chinese New Year Fundraiser for Camosun College

Sherri Bell and Cindy Choi FCPA FCGA

On February 9, 2017, the CPABC Victoria/SVI Chapter hosted their annual Chinese New Year Dinner at the Don Mee Seafood Restaurant in Victoria’s historic Chinatown to raise additional funds towards the legacy CPA endowment fund at Camosun College.

Don Mee Restaurant  Chinatown Lion

The evening was emceed by Cindy Choi FCPA FCGA who is one of the original organizers of this annual fundraising dinner (Choi is pictured above with Sherri Bell, president of Camosun College).  Welcome and opening remarks were provided by Karen Shew CPA CGA the chair of the CPABC Victoria Chapter.

Victoria Chair Karen Shew CPA CGA

The event was attended by over 130 guests including: Sherri Bell, president of Camosun College; Jeety Bhalla CPA CA, chair of the Camosun Foundation; Keri Norrie FCPA FCA CGA, chair accounting and information systems at Camosun’s School of Business; Lindalee Brougham FCPA, FCA, CGA, CPABC provincial board member and board liaison to the Victoria Chapter; Bob Strachan FCPA, FCMA, governor of the CPA Education Foundation and former chair of CPA Canada; and CPABC staff members David Chiang, CPA, CA and Nicola Mclaren CPA CA.

Jeety Bhalla CPA CA Bob Strachan FCPA FCMA

[Above: Jeety Bhalla, chair of Camosun Foundation with Bob Strachan, governor of the CPAEF]

David and Nicola

[Above: David Chiang and Nicola McLaren]

The evening included an exciting and competitive silent auction with items generously donated by over 40 local businesses and supporters.  The proceeds from the auction are directed to the endowment fund at Camosun College which supports two annual CPA Awards in Accounting.

SWAG  Silent Auction 1

Silent Auction 2

The recipients of the 2016 endowment awards were in attendance – David Hilborn and Ben Robertson.  David currently works at Grant Thornton and Ben at KPMG.  Both David and Ben have since graduated from Camosun and in their remarks commented about their time at Camosun and how the award has had a positive impact on them.

Camosun Student David Hillborn

[David Hilborn above, Ben Robertson below]

Camosun Student Ben Robertson

In addition to these endowment awards, the CPAEF directly supports three scholarships of $1,000 each which were awarded to Hyewon Choi, Erin Munro and Samantha Potts.  These awards are given to the top students in Auditing AU380, Performance Management AC480 and Taxation TX 470/471.  And, the John Hadfield Memorial Scholarship was awarded to Marc Despins.

Samantha Potts said, “I am truly grateful for the financial assistance attached to this award which I will use towards my CPA tuition fees.  I am honored by this recognition of my work while at Camosun College.”

The evening was made possible through the tremendous effort of Chapter volunteers – Aureleo Reyes CPA CMA, Robert Katzer CPA CGA, and so many others, all of whom received several rounds of applause from attendees for their contribution of time and effort.

Victoria Chapter Helpers

The CPAEF, CPABC Victoria/SVI Chapter and local CPAs are proud to continue their long-standing support of Camosun College students.


Posted in community, CPABC, CPAEF, news